A Letter To My Son!

My Dearest Son,

You are born, its 8th of October. I am one happy mom and the spark in your dad’s eye is so bright. He is too happy and proud to express anything, his smile says it all. I can see that heart-warming swell in his chest, though he desperately  wanted a daughter.  But we all welcomed you with open arms.

I won’t lie sweetheart, but giving birth to you was one hell of a task. With God’s fathomless Grace I didn’t had to bear much pain. You can say it was a smooth ride, that-ways. In the end, if all is well then the end is always well.

The first few hours with you were very calm. You wanted to sleep, as if you hadn’t had all the rest in the womb. The nurses came every two hours to make you feed. This meant even I had to stay ready every two hours.

This was the start of a epic journey which will not end till my last breath. Even if we grow old and we get all haggard, you will still stay the same angel for of us, that you were when you were born.

The moment you were brought home, the journey to nurture you started. We were at your Nana’s (Maternal Grandfather) home and a very concerned Nani (Maternal Grandmother). 

You cradled endless and seemed to enjoy loving touch in my beautiful sister’s arms. She loves you like the most precious thing in the world. She dotes you and is your first mother. Even when you were in womb, she nurses you with all scrumptious delicacies and useful tips. Thank and cherish her always!

They did everything to make your stay comfortable. I still remember how your Nana was happy to sing a lullaby each night. He used to sway you to sleep and sometimes even kept you in lap rocking you for three-four hours in the night.

Perhaps it is with all newborns that they sleep during the day and wake up all energized in the night. Same was with you. Days passed and time came to go to you Dada’s (Paternal Grandfather) place.

Things didn’t change here either. You had the same routine and here your rock solid Dadi (Paternal Grandmother) took the charge, keeping you shushed all night. With you life changed beautifully and I learned a lot. To keep you protected, bathe you, put you to sleep, sing to you, see sunshine in your eyes, teach you the ways of life and share all my experiences.

Experiences, they are gems of my life and I will love to share them with you all through this journey called life. There are things that I can tell and explain to you, but it’s up to you to learn from them or just ignore them entirely. I can tell you once, twice or at the most thrice the rest it entirely your take.

My loving son you will one day fall in love, every one does. But if you  want to love someone you have to be absolutely fearless. You need to be strong enough to understand your love’s interest and make them realize your love. Just as your father did and I not only thank him, but also respect him for this. His courage changed lives for both of us as will yours.

My sweetheart, I like any other mother wish for you to grow up to be a thorough gentleman, full of chivalry. A man who knows how to dote his women and respect her for her. I don’t know what the future holds, but hopefully it’ll be only best.

I would want to teach you everything that I would have taught my daughter. To cook, to work, do dishes, buy groceries and all such homely things only expected from a girl. You need to learn all these things not just for yourself, but for your would be wife too. You should, and must help her in all the household chores. Because it is not only woman’s job to keep the household running.

I must end this letter now. Let’s see how things get along. This letter will serve as a gentle reminder of how you were born and brought-up. Remember these lessons and take this letter as a way to inspire your ideals, long after I am gone.

“Together and Apart”

Your Loving,
Mom

Your kind words will be appreciated.

