Rusting Away Your Memory!

It was a beautiful morning. The sky was blue, the birds sang and the fresh breeze flowed sweetly. I had just finished making a scrumptious breakfast for my family. 

Feeling elated at the days start I sat to peep through the morning news. Seeing me so well at ease my husband thought to nudge me playfully. He asked, “honey do you remember my mobile number”. Of course I do, I said. After all it has been so many years it must have been registered in my memory by now.

You see, that’s where I was wrong. At the spur of the moment I couldn’t recollect the number. I tried so hard to remember the number but sadly it didn’t quite come out. Blushed with embarrasment I gave him one of my innocent puppy look. He simply smirked and recited the number for me.

This made me think about how bad our memories have got. We have rusted the sharpness of our brain at the hands of technology. I am so used to my phone to dial my husband’s number that I have never made the effort to memorise it. 

And that’s bad not only because this is one number I should be having on my finger tips, but because I might find it handy in case something happens to my phone and I need to give him a call in emergency. 

I distinctly remember how my teacher never allowed us to use calculators to solves tough science and maths numericals. Then there were much better days when we had memorise lessons, tables, spellings, rythmes and so on.

And we memorised all of these things by heart. It was a such a great feeling to remember important dates and wish our friends on there special days. (Sighs) what glorious days were they!

But things have changed now. We are so dependent on technology that we need special reminders feeded into our smartphones to memorise our life’s important days and events. We need an autocorrect to check our spellings and grammar. Most of all we constantly  need Google to answer life’s intricate questions.

Our children need to learn to live without technology. Yes it is a boon but also a bane. We can’t let our memory power fade. Brain has enormous power, but it needs to be utilised. 

I have started believing in my memory and constantly challenge it. So that  it doesn’t dusts off in oblivion. You have to sharpen, brighten and lighten your memory – that to constantly to hone it. 

Let’s see how much I can achive. Atleast I will be able to answer my husband next time he asks for his mobile number. 

Your kind words will be appreciated.

